LPCC Licensure Instructions
After becoming a LPC, if you wish to begin the process to obtain your LPCC, complete the following steps.
- Complete a minimum of 24 months and 3000 hours of post-LPC supervised experience including 150 hours of training supervision with an LPCC-S. **Note: You may apply for the LPCC license before you complete your 24 months supervised experience and before your training supervisor(s) submits the online LPCC Supervision documentation, however when you complete the online application (see instructions below) you must answer “Yes” to the questions about having completed your supervised experience or you will receive a message that you are not eligible to apply for the license.**
Your supervised experience must meet the requirements for the LPCC. Fifty percent (50%) of your time must be spent providing clinical counseling services, which includes the diagnosis and treatment of mental and emotional disorders under a LPCC with the supervising counselor designation (LPCC-S). If you have a doctorate in counseling, you may receive credit for up to one year of supervised practice in a doctoral internship with clinical focus. Your supervisor will submit the online LPCC Supervision Form to document your doctoral internship hours of supervised practice.
Have each training supervisor complete the online LPCC Supervision documentation to document your supervised hours. NOTE: You need to document at least two years and 3000 hours of post-LPC experience including at least 150 hours of training supervision with an LPCC-S. Each LPCC-S who provided training supervision must submit an online LPCC Supervision Form.
- Complete the LPCC application online and pay the $100 application fee (plus a $3.50 processing fee) at eLicense.Ohio.gov
Log into eLicense.Ohio.gov and click APPLY FOR A NEW LICENSE then select the Counselor Social Worker & MFT Board from the drop down menu. Choose Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor pick the application type: Examination or Reciprocity. (Reciprocity means two or more states have a written agreement that a licensee from another state can be licensed in Ohio under that agreement. Ohio has a reciprocity agreement only with Kentucky. In the eLicense.Ohio.gov system Reciprocity means applying for an Ohio license based on an active license from another state).
Submitting your online LPCC application will generate a request to sit for the NCMHCE Exam* (National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Examination) and you will be sent an Exam Eligibility Email. Please be prepared to take the NCMHCE when applying for the LPCC license. The letter of eligibility is valid for twelve months. Applicants who pay for and register for the exam may forfeit fees if they do not take the exam by the expiration date of the letter of eligibility.
*If you passed the PCLE by 2006 for your LPC license and you are currently licensed you will not be required to take the NCMHCE Exam for the LPCC license.
- After you pass the exam. E-mail a copy of your exam results to email@example.com
- Complete BCI & FBI Criminal Background Checks.
Documents required to complete your LPCC application:
- Online LPCC Supervision from all training supervisors documenting the required supervised experience.
- NCMHCE Test results (unless you are currently licensed as a result of passing the PCLE) - please email your NCMHCE test results to firstname.lastname@example.org
- Complete BCI & FBI Criminal Background Checks
- Watch the Board’s Laws & Rules Video. You will not receive a certification or acknowledgment certification that you watch the video
After You Have Submitted Your Application
- Be sure to submit any required documents.
- Complete the background checks.
- Track the status of your application by clicking on Review Status under Options on your license application tile in eLicense. The review checklist indicates whether the Board has received your background checks, submissions such as your transcript or hours of supervision, and your exam score.