Easy Steps to Ohio LPCC Licensure
Based on Chapter 4757 of the Ohio Revised Code and the Ohio Administrative Code
After becoming a LPC, if you wish to begin the process to upgrade your license to the LPCC, please complete the following steps.
Your experience must meet the requirements for the LPCC with 50% of your time spent in clinical counseling services, which include the diagnosis and treatment of mental and emotional disorders under a LPCC with the supervising counselor designation. If you have a doctorate in counseling, you may receive credit for up to one year of supervised practice in a doctoral internship with clinical focus. Your supervisor will submit the online LPCC Supervision Form to document your doctoral internship hours of supervised practice.
Have each training supervisor complete the online LPCC Supervision Form to document your supervised hours. NOTE: You need to document at least two years and 3000 hours of post-LPC experience including at least 150 hours of training supervision with an LPCC-S. Each LPCC-S who provided training supervision must submit an online LPCC Supervision Form.
Log into eLicense.Ohio.gov and click APPLY FOR A NEW LICENSE then select the Counselor Social Worker & MFT Board from the drop down menu. Choose Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor pick the application type: Examination or Reciprocity. (Reciprocity means two or more states have a written agreement that a licensee from another state can be licensed in Ohio under that agreement. Ohio has a reciprocity agreement only with Kentucky. In the eLicense.Ohio.gov system Reciprocity means applying for an Ohio license based on an active license from another state).
Submitting your online LPCC application will generate a request to sit for the NCMHCE Exam* (National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Examination) and you will be sent an Exam Eligibility Email. Very important: Be prepared to take the NCMHCE when applying for the LPCC license because the letter of eligibility is valid for only six months. Applicants who pay for and register for the exam may forfeit fees if they do not take the exam by the expiration date of the letter of eligibility.
*If you passed the PCLE by 2006 for your LPC license and you are currently licensed you will not be required to take the NCMHCE Exam for your LPCC license.
Documents required to complete your LPCC application:
1) Online LPCC Supervision Forms from all training supervisors documenting the required supervised experience.
2) NCMHCE Test results (unless you are currently licensed as a result of passing the PCLE) - please email your NCMHCE test results to firstname.lastname@example.org
3) Complete BCI & FBI Criminal Records Check by following the instructions in this link: https://www.cswmft.ohio.gov/BCI-FBI-Background-Checks/BCI-FBI-Instructions
4) Watch the Board’s Laws & Rules Video. You will not receive a certification or acknowledgment certification that you watch the video