Applying for a license?

Click the above links for your application type


Click here!

Need to file a complaint?

Click here for information

Image Alt Text

Junk Mail is no place for Board E-Mails

If you're not getting our emails, click here for help

CEUs approved by NBCC are now accepted for counselors

Find out more here

Learn more about Inactive Escrow status here

Questions about COVID-19?
Visit or call 1-833-4-ASK-ODH for answers.



COVID-19/Corona Virus Guidance - The Board has issued guidance regarding COVID-19/Corona Virus prevention and preparedness, including guidance on telehealth and electronic practice. Click HERE for more information. 

The Counselor and Social Worker Board was created by legislation in 1984. The Board's primary responsibility is to protect the citizens of the State of Ohio through the licensure of Counselors and Social Workers. The Board does this through the establishment of licensure and practice standards for the professional practice of counseling and social work.

In April 2004 Marriage and Family Therapists were added as a licensee group and the Board's name changed to the Counselor, Social Worker & Marriage and Family Therapist Board.

The Board consists of fifteen members appointed by the Governor. Four members must be licensed professional counselors; four members must be licensed social workers or independent social workers; four members must be independent marriage and family therapists or marriage and family therapists; and three members are representatives of the public. The three professions each have a professional standards committee made up of four professionals and a public member.

The Board and committees meet six times a year to review license applications and conduct other Board business. Usually meetings are held on the third Thursday and Friday of January, March, May, July, September and November.

When visiting the Board, please be prepared to show State of Ohio or other government-issued photo identification.  Also, effective immediately, visitors to the Riffe State Office Tower are not permitted to bring backpacks into the building.

The Board is supported by thirteen staff members. The business hours of the Counselor, Social Worker and Marriage and Family Therapist Board are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday…excluding state observed holidays.

Customer Satisfaction Survey

The State of Ohio is interested in offering its citizens the best available Customer Service. Please take a little time to complete the Customer Satisfaction Survey follow this link below:   Customer Satisfaction Survey

Ohio Human Trafficking Task Force  Start Talking 


Email address:  
(required) Your name:  

If your agency or business would like to know the latest information about rule changes and policy updates here at the Board, please sign up to join our mailing list.