Statute changes in House Bill 232 to update Chapter 4757 and
other parts of the Ohio Revised Code that apply to the Board's
Representative Sears introduced House Bill 232 that
will make substantive changes to the Board's authorizing
Chapter 4757 of the Revised Code. The bill passed the House on 11/6/2013.
See links below with a cover page explaining what changes are
included - this is not all changes, but a good summary. HB-232
will be going to the Senate Committee in the near future.
See this link for a PDF of the bill as passed in the House on 11/6/2013
with a three page summary reflecting each Revised Code Section affected
See this link for the Legislative Service Commission (LSC) formal information on the bill:
LSC- this is
updated with the bill as passed by the House vote.
House Bill 232 now needs Senate hearings and vote.
No Change Rule filing
The board has several "no change" rules being sent out for comment under the Common
Sense Initiative for the Five Year Rule Review. The board is required
to review each rule at least every five years and in the case of these rules,
deemed no changes were needed. The rules include
4757-05-08, 4757-19-08 and 4757-99-01
of the Ohio Administrative Code, which are no change rules. See them at this:
Five Year Rule Review Next Phase
We have a number of rules that are coming up for five year rule review in 2014, which will be noted in December.
We are also planning to file changes to rules 4757-07-01, 4757-09-02, 4757-9-05, 4757-17-01,
4757-19-04, 4757-25-01, 4757-25-04 and 4757-29-01.
See these proposed rule changes at this:
See the current rules in link at top of the page.
Rule 4757-9-04 is still under JCARR pending resolution of part of the rule
concerning quality of programs that are primarily text based.
Rule Changes Effective January 1, 2013
Rules with significant changes
- this is a list of the significant changes made to eight
rules. See the full rules at link at top of page.
Rule Changes Effective April 1, 2012
4757-1-05 Adds three new fees: $15 for replacement
wall certificates; $30 fee for annual CE programs;
and $125 for CE Provider status. See this link for
new forms: Link
4757-9-05 Adds sub-paragraphs to CE program and
CE provider applications to include required fee. Adds
new paragraph (D), which requires CE program advertising
to include the target audience and if program includes
ethics or supervision the # of hours of each and target
See this link for filed rules details: Link.
See this link for complete current laws and rules file:
Rule Changes Effective September 1, 2011
4757-9-03 Modifies renewal for new LSW who previously held related
degree licensee; and adds diversity as a subject under ethics for LISWs, LSWs and SWAs
toward the 3 hours of ethics CEUs.
4757-13-03 Removes supervision from prior to 1998 from acceptable experience toward
PCC licensure since that experience is so far in the past.
4757-17-01 The PCC-S supervisor shall sign off on
all diagnosis, change in diagnosis, ISPs, Treatment
plans, and correspondence to any third party outside
of the agency.
4757-19-01 Removes requirement for previously licensed
LSW to have 400 hour field work course.
4757-23-01 Documents better the requirement that
LSW supervised practice shall be provided by a licensed
independent social worker with supervision designation,
which has been in place since September 1, 2008.
See this link for complete laws and rules file:
Rule Changes Effective April 1, 2011
4757-9-04 includes changes, which allows licensees
to bank up to 12 hours of CEUs in excess of 30 hours
of CEUs from the immediately prior renewal period,
you are audited using up to 12 hours of prior CEUs,
a licensee will be audited for that period and the
prior period and will have to show at least 60 hours
of CEUs. For example, a licensee earned 42 hours of
CEUs from May 20, 2008 to May 20, 2010. That licensee
may use up to twelve hours of CEUs from the May 20,
2010 renewal toward the renewal due in May 20, 2012.
If audited, the licensee shall provide proof of at
least 60 total hours: 42 hours of CEUs (or 30 plus
whatever number are being banked) from May 20, 2008
to May 20, 2010; and at least 18 CEUs (or the remainder
needed to equal a total of 30 hours) from May 20,
2010 through May 20, 2012.
Discipline actions that may include fines.
4757-3-01 Change to definition of accepted
CSWE MSW degrees in paragraph (M).
4757-5-02 Responsibility to clients/consumers
of services as to competency in supervision. New paragraph
(I) in rule.
4757-5-03 Removes bartering from Standards
of ethical practice and professional conduct: multiple
4757-5-08 Removes bartering from Standards
of ethical practice and professional conduct: payment
4757-5-09 Adds a requirement for independent
practitioners to identify a keeper of records in the
event of their untimely ability to take care of the
4757-6-01 Provides more detailed guidance when
a licensee with a client involved in a custody, visitation
and/or guardianship case is forced into court.
4757-9-05 Changes the continuing education
provider section for university programs in counseling,
social work or marriage and family therapy to align
with other providers.
4757-13-07 Removes inappropriate reference
to CACREP accreditation standards in the rule.
4757-25-02 Defines the examination requirement
for a lapsed Marriage and Family Therapist or Independent
Marriage and Family Therapist licensee applying for
a new license.
See this link for complete laws and rules file:
ASWB & NASW CE Approvals
The Social Worker Professional Standards committee (SWPSC) has approved the
following continuing education program approval changes. LISWs, LSWs, and SWAs
may take any continuing education courses approved by the Association of Social
Worker Boards (ASWB) or the National Association of Social Workers (NASW) for
their renewal requirements.
Any course that is accredited by the ASWB will be accepted by this Board for
continuing social work education. If the course materials say “ACE approved” or
“approved as a provider for continuing education by the ASWB”, it is acceptable.
Any course that is accredited by the NASW will be accepted by this Board for
continuing social work education. If the course materials say “NASW Approved:
with a NASW approval number or “NASW State Chapter Approved” with a NASW approval
number, it is acceptable.
This change was approved due to the high quality and thoroughness of the approval
processes for continuing education programs and providers used by ASWB and NASW.
This option by rule change below is available only to national social work associations.
Links to ASWB approval program is
Links to ASWB approved providers is
Links to NASW approval program and courses are
The Board is interested in your input on rules and the rule
making process. See the Laws & Regulations link on the
front page: Laws & Regs page
Continuing Education Program Survey
The Board has added a new question to the renewals under
the "CE's Completed" section of the online renewals.
You have the option to complete a short survey on the
most recent or other recent continuing education program
that you took. You can complete the survey here at anytime:
The Board is interested in your input on the CE programs
that are offered both good and bad. No CE credits will
be taken away because of these reports, but we will look
at future offerings based on these comments.
New Licensure Requirement for
PC, PCC, LSW,
LISW, SWA, MFT & IMFT Applicants
The Board has added a new licensure requirement (for new
applicants), for the licenses listed in the title, which
applies to all applications received after 1/1/2010. We
have created an online ethics laws and rules exam review
and CEU option. You can take the exam here: Exam
The Laws & Rules exam is an online review that costs $10 for applicants
and $30 for CEUs. You can pay $10 for a laws and rules exam or
$30 for a CEU. If you are a PC, LSW or MFT and need CEUs for renewal,
you can do that and use that certificate within two years for
your PCC, LISW or IMFT laws and rules exam. The instructions are
on the page in the link above. You cannot fail. All questions
that you miss will come back to be answered until you get them
correct. There is a link on each question to the appropriate law
or rule. We have had very positive reviews from the exam takers
that the exam is a very thorough review of the board's laws and
you are licensed as a PC, LSW or MFT and need ethics CEU’s
to renew your license, you can take the online ethics
laws and rules exam. Additionally, if you have completed
the ethics laws and rule exam within the past two years,
you can use the exam certificate you receive to meet the
requirements of the laws and rules exam you would have
to take to obtain a PCC, LISW or IMFT. Please forward
a copy of the certificate via email to the licensure staff
member on the Staff Listing on our web site front page.
New Fees Including Late Renewal Fee
Part of House Bill 153, which is the Ohio budget bill for Fiscal
years 2012& 2013 includes language that adds new fees for the
board. The new fees will authorize amounts to be established by
rule. Rule 4757-1-05 will be filed if the bill passes to add the
following new fees:
1. Continuing education program applications may be $30.
2. Continuing education provider applications will be $125.
3. Replacement wall certificates will be $15.
New fees would be effective after Spetember 30, 2011 at the earliest.
Brochure & Electronic Service Delivery
board has approved a consumer brochure to explain our
board and licensees. Please feel free to use the linked
board has approved a consumer statement to explain electronic
service delivery including eTherapy, telephone therapy
or any other electronic means. Please review this linked
MFT is in ODMH Matrix as Provider
Department of Mental Health approved a rule change to add MFTs to
the authorization rules for reimbursement by the state. MFTs are
eligible to work at mental health agencies reimbursed by the state.
Provider Identifier Standard (NPI)
Board has received many calls about the NPI. However, we have
no responsibility in this area. Here is a link to the U.S.
Department of Health & Human Services Centers for Medicaid
and Medicare Services web site on the NPI:
Below are the ODMH and ODJFS sites as well.
ODMH info on NPI
info on NPI
will be mailed Quarterly starting in 2011.
January through March 2011, which were mailed in early November;
April through June were mailed in early February;
July through Septemebr will be mailed in early May; and
October through December will be mailed in early August.
Please make sure we have your current
address. Contact the Board if you do not have your form. Please
use online renewal we have received rave reviews from over 98%
Verification or Lookup System
can access the Licensee Lookup feature that is updated daily at
the following link Licensee
to be a Board member?
interested in becoming a board member should go to the
Governor's web site at this link for an application.
Submit a complete application to the address at that web
site. Several Board members' appointments expire 10/10/2013.
While a position for which you are eligible may not be
immediately available submitting an application gets you
on the list for consideration in the future.