Out of State Applicant: LSW


Steps for Ohio Licensure for Out-of-State Licensed Social Workers


 

We welcome social workers who are licensed in other states to apply for licensure in Ohio. If you are currently licensed in another state, we will accept your ASWB exam and supervised experience under endorsement. We will need your ASWB exam score and supervision documents with your Ohio application. Our rules for endorsement of a social work license can be found in 4757-19-07 

 

 

Your first step is to submit the appropriate application and then the other steps can be completed in any order. Please contact the Board if you are not certain which license to apply for.  After you submit your application, we will send you an email with a user name and password so you can see which documents have been received and which ones are pending. We usually advise out of state applicants to wait until you are in Ohio before completing the BCI & FBI Background check, although if you want to get this done while you are out of state click here Out of State Applicant 

 

If you are applying for an LSW, full instructions on how to complete the items below can be found at LSW Instructions 

 

Documents required for completing an LSW licensure file:

 

1) LSW application with a $60 fee

2) ASWB Bachelors, Masters, Clinical, or Advanced Generalist exam results (exam scores more than seven years old are not considered valid, unless you are actively licensed in another state):

  a) You may be able to contact your state licensing board to have them send your

ASWB exam results to this board, or

b) You may contact the ASWB directly at 888-579-3926 and ask them to send your exam results to the Ohio CSWMFT Board (there will be a fee)

3) Board’s online Laws and Rules exam ($10 fee).

4) Official Transcript mailed or emailed directly from your school

5) BCI & FBI background checks.

 

If you are applying for an LISW, full instructions on how to complete the items below can be found at LISW Instructions 

 

Documents required for completing your LISW licensure file:

 

1) LISW application with $75 fee.

2) ASWB Clinical or Advanced Generalist exam results (exam scores more than seven years old are not considered valid, unless you are actively licensed in another state):

a) You may be able to contact your state licensing board to have them send your ASWB

exam results to this board or

b) You may contact the ASWB directly at 888-579-3926 and ask them to send your exam result to the Ohio CSWMFT Board (there will be a fee)

3) Board’s online Laws and Rules exam ($10 fee).

4) Official Transcript mailed or emailed directly from your school

5) BCI & FBI background checks.

6) Supervision documentation.  If you have completed your supervised experience in another state you can use one of the following methods to document it:

1) You can contact your state board and ask them to send your supervision records to the CSWMFT Board in Ohio.

2) If your state board does not have your supervision records, we will need a letter from them verifying they do not have this documentation, confirming that you are licensed at the independent level, and confirming the rules and requirements you would have needed to meet in order to earn licensure.

3) You may ask former supervisors to complete Professional Employment Reference form