Steps for Ohio Licensure for Out-of-State LSW & LISW
We welcome social workers who are licensed in other states to apply for licensure in Ohio. If you are currently licensed
in another state, we will accept your ASWB exam and supervised experience under endorsement. We will need your ASWB
exam score and supervision documents along with your Ohio application. Our rules for endorsement of a social work license
can be found in 4757-19-07
Your first step is to submit the appropriate application and then the other steps can be completed in any order.
Please contact the Board if you are not certain which license is appropriate based on your credentials and experience.
After you submit your application, we will send you an email with a user name and password so you can see which
documents have been received and which ones are pending. We usually advise out of state applicants to wait until you are
in Ohio before completing the BCI & FBI Background check, although if you want to get this done while you are out of state click here Out of State Applicant
If you are applying for an LSW, full instructions on how to complete the items below can be found at LSW Instructions
Documents required for completing an LSW licensure file:
1) LSW application with a $80.00 fee
2) ASWB Bachelors, Masters, Clinical, or Advanced Generalist exam results (exam scores more than seven years old are not considered valid, unless
you are actively licensed in another state):
a) You may contact the ASWB directly at 888-579-3926 and ask them to send your exam results to the Ohio CSWMFT Board (there will be a fee)
3) Watch the board’s online Laws and Rules Video
4) Official Transcript mailed or emailed directly from your school
5) BCI & FBI background checks.
If you are applying for an LISW, full instructions on how to complete the items below can be found at LISW Instructions
Documents required for completing your LISW licensure file:
1) LISW application with $100.00 fee.
2) ASWB Clinical or Advanced Generalist exam results (exam scores more than seven years old are not considered valid, unless you are actively
licensed in another state):
a) You may contact the ASWB directly at 888-579-3926 and ask them to send your exam result to the Ohio CSWMFT Board (there will be a fee)
6) Supervision documentation. If you have completed your supervised experience in another state you can use one of the following methods to document it:
1) You can contact your state board and ask them to send your supervision records to the CSWMFT Board in Ohio.
2) If your state board does not have your supervision records, we will need a letter from them verifying they donot have this documentation, confirming that you are licensed at the independent level, and confirming the rules and requirements you would have needed to meet in order to earn licensure.
3) You may ask former supervisors to complete a Professional Employment Reference form