Steps to Ohio Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC) Licensure for Students Enrolled in or
Graduates of a Non CACREP Accredited Counselor Program
1.) If your degree does not meet Ohio’s education requirements it must be a graduate degree in counseling from an accredited institution or appropriately accredited institution. “Accredited” or “Appropriately Accredited” means an institution accredited or holding pre-accredited status at the college level by an accreditation agency recognized by the U. S. Secretary of Education; or an institution accredited at the college level by an accrediting agency recognized by the “Council for Higher Education Accreditation”, or “CHEA”.
A qualifying degree program must include a 100 hour practicum and a 600 hour internship. Once a course is used to satisfy a requirement, it may not be reused. See this link for complete coursework requirements http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4757-13-01
2.) Submit a copy of your transcript (official or unofficial) with a completed Counselor Course Worksheet
If the title of the course does not obviously meet the subject area which is listed on the Course Worksheet; attach a course description or syllabus. The more complete the information on the coursework sheet the less likely you will be delayed by a request for additional information.
The Counselor Professional Standards Committee will review the coursework worksheets and transcripts to determine applicant’s eligibility for licensure. The Committee meets the 3rd Thursday and Friday of every other month beginning in January.
If approved and you have not taken the required licensing examination - the National Board for Certified Counselors National Counselor Examination (NCE) - an exam eligibility letter will be emailed to you. See LPC Non-CACREP Exam Guide for information regarding the exam.
3.) After you pass the NCE exam, fax a copy of the Exam Result Report to 614-728-7790
4.) Complete the LPC Licensure Application, have it notarized and mail it and a $60.00 certified check or money order to the Board. Note: The LPC application is emailed with your exam approval letter. The application is not available on the website.
5.) Have your school send an OFFICIAL transcript showing your conferred degree directly to the Board.
6.) Complete a Criminal Records Check (CRC) (or BCI & FBI Background Check) CRC’s are good for 1 year from the date received by the Board. If you completed a CRC for your CT, but they were received by the Board more than 1 year ago, they must be repeated for your LPC license. Follow the instructions in this link for completing your BCI & FBI Background Check
7.) Complete the Board’s Online Laws and Rules Exam Here is the link to the instructions:
You may be issued a provisional license only if you have applied for a LPC license and you meet all requirements of licensure except formal board approval, if needed OR your degree is conferred, but the registrar has not yet sent a transcript showing the degree conferred. You will need a letter from the registrar’s office saying the degree is conferred, but not available until some date in the future.
Documents required to complete your PC licensure file are:
1.) Internship Supervisor Evaluation Rating Form
2.) NCE Test Results – please fax your exam results to 614-728-7790 (for Board approved examinees). Allow 4-6weeks to schedule exam.
3.) Official Transcript, showing your conferred graduate degree in counseling sent directly from your school.
4.) BCI and FBI Criminal Records Check
5.) PC licensure application, notarized, with fee (no personal checks – money order or certified check only)
6.) Complete the board’s online Laws and Rules Exam
**Please allow 7-10 business days to process items sent to the board’s office**