Ohio.gov  |   State Agencies   |   Online Services
CACREP Application Instructions

Steps to Ohio Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC) Licensure for Students Enrolled in or Graduates of a CACREP Accredited Counselor Program



1.) Counselor Trainee Status: Counselor Trainee (CT) status is not a prerequisite for LPC licensure, however your school, practicum/internship site or supervisor may require CT registration or you may elect to apply for CT status. If you are required or want to register for CT status here is a link to the Counselor Trainee instructions and Application form: CT Initial Application

 

2.) Submit a request to sit for the required licensing examination, the National Board for Certified Counselors National Counselor Examination (NCE). See LPC Exam Guide

 

3.) After you pass the NCE exam, fax a copy of the Exam Result Report to 614-728-7790 FAX

 

4.) Complete the LPC Licensure Application, have it notarized and mail it and a $60.00 certified check or money order to the Board. Note: The LPC application is emailed with your exam approval letter. The application is not available on the website.

 

5.) Have your school send an OFFICIAL transcript showing your conferred degree directly to the Board.

 

6.) Complete a Criminal Records Check (CRC). CRC’s are good for 1 year from the date received by the Board. If you completed a CRC for your CT, but they were received by the Board more than 1 year ago, they must be repeated for your PC license. Follow the instructions in this link for completing your CRC: 

BCI & FBI Criminal Records Checks 

 

7.) Complete the Board’s Online Laws and Rules Exam. Here is the link to the instructions:

 

You may be issued a provisional license only if you have applied for a PC license and you meet all requirements of licensure except formal board approval, if needed OR your degree is conferred, but the registrar has not yet sent a transcript showing the degree conferred. You will need a letter from the registrar’s office saying the degree is conferred, but not available until some date in the future.

 

Documents required to complete your PC licensure file:

 

1.) NCE Test Results – please fax your exam results to 614-728-7790 (for Board approved examinees). Allow 4-6weeks to schedule exam.

 

2.) Official Transcript, showing your conferred graduate degree in counseling sent directly from your school.

 

3.) BCI and FBI Criminal Records Check 

 

4.) PC licensure application, notarized, with $60.00 fee (no personal checks – money order or certified check only)


5.) Complete the board’s online Laws and Rules Exam

**Please allow 7-10 business days to process items sent to the board’s office