Steps to Ohio Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC) Licensure for Students Enrolled in or
Graduates of a Non CACREP Accredited Counselor Program
1.) If your degree is not from a CACREP-accredited program, it must be a graduate degree in counseling from an accredited institution. “Accredited” or “Appropriately Accredited” means an institution accredited or holding pre-accredited status at the college level by an accreditation agency recognized by the U. S. Secretary of Education; or an institution accredited at the college level by an accrediting agency recognized by the “Council for Higher Education Accreditation”, or “CHEA”.
A qualifying degree program must include a 100 hour practicum and a 600 hour internship. Once a course is used to satisfy a requirement, it may not be reused. See this link for complete coursework requirements http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4757-13-01
2.) Complete the online LPC application available at create your account and log in. Once you're on your license tile click APPLY FOR A NEW LICENSE then select the name of our Board from the drop down menu. Choose the LICENSE TYPE you are applying for and pick the application type EXAMINATION or reciprocity. (Reciprocity means that two or more states have a written agreement indicating that a licensee from one state can be licensed in the other states under that written agreement. Ohio has a reciprocity agreement with Kentucky). A completed application is good for 2 years.
3.) Submit along with your online application a completed Counselor Course Worksheet
Once your LPC application has been received and your course worksheet been approved by the CSWMFT Board a request to sit for the required licensing examination will be generated for you. The National Board for Certified Counselors National Counselor Examination (NCE) is the required examination for Ohio LPC licensure. The exam eligibility letter will be emailed to you. The letter of eligiblility to sit for the exam is valid for only six months. Applicants who pay for and register for the exam may forfeit fees if they do not take the exam by the expiration date of the letter of eligibility. Please allow 4-6 weeks to schedule the exam with NBCC. See LPC Non-CACREP Exam Guide for information regarding the exam.
5.) Have your school send to the Board an OFFICIAL transcript showing your conferred degree. Electronic delivery is preferred. The school may e-mail the transcript to firstname.lastname@example.org
4.) After you pass the NCE exam, e-mail a copy of your results to email@example.com
6.) Complete a Criminal Records Check (CRC) (or BCI & FBI Background Check) CRC’s are good for 1 year from the date received by the Board. If you completed a CRC for your CT, but they were received by the Board more than 1 year ago, they must be repeated for your LPC license. Follow the instructions in this link for completing your BCI & FBI Background Check
7.) Watch the board’s Laws & Rules Video
Documents required to complete your LPC licensure application are:
1.) Internship Supervisor Evaluation Rating Form
2.) NCE test results
3.) Official Transcript, showing your conferred graduate degree
4.) BCI and FBI Criminal Records Check
5.) LPC licensure application
6.) Watch the board’s Laws & Rules Video
**Please allow 7-10 business days to process items sent to the board’s office**