Steps to Ohio Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC) Licensure for Students Enrolled in or Graduates of a CACREP Accredited Counselor Program
Counselor Trainee Status: Counselor Trainee (CT) status is not a prerequisite for LPC licensure, however your school, practicum/internship site or supervisor may require CT registration or you may elect to apply for CT status. If you are required or want to register for CT status please visit this page: http://www.cswmft.ohio.gov/Counselors/CounselorTrainee.aspx .
1.) Complete the online LPC Licensure Application available at create your account and log in. Once you're on your license tile click APPLY FOR A NEW LICENSE then select the name of our Board from the drop down menu. Choose the LICENSE TYPE you are applying for and pick the application type EXAMINATION or reciprocity. (Reciprocity means that two or more states have a written agreement indicating that a licensee from one state can be licensed in the other states under that written agreement. Ohio has a reciprocity agreement with Kentucky). A completed applicantion is good for 2 years.
A completed LPC application will generate your request to sit for the required licensing examination. The National Board for Certified Counselors, National Counselor Examination (NCE) is required for Ohio LPC licensure. Please be prepared to register and pay NBCC to sit for the exam when you receive (by email) your letter of eligibility from the CSWMFT Board. The (email) letter of eligiblility to sit for the exam is valid for only six months. Applicants who pay for and register for the exam may forfeit fees if they do not take the exam by the expiration date of the letter of eligibility.
2.) After you pass the NCE exam, fax a copy of the Exam Result Report to 614-728-7790 FAX
3.) Have your school send an OFFICIAL transcript showing your conferred degree directly to the Board.
4.) Complete a Criminal Records Check (CRC). CRC’s are good for 1 year from the date received by the Board. If you completed a CRC for your CT, but they were received by the Board more than 1 year ago, they must be repeated for your PC license. Follow the instructions in this link for completing your CRC: BCI & FBI Criminal Records Checks
5.) Watch the board’s Laws & Rules Video
You may be issued a provisional license only if you have applied for a LPC license and you meet all requirements of licensure except formal board approval, if needed OR your degree is conferred, but the registrar has not yet sent a transcript showing the degree conferred. You will need a letter from the registrar’s office saying the degree is conferred, but not available until some date in the future.
Documents required to complete your LPC application:
1.) NCE Test Results – email results to firstname.lastname@example.org Allow 4-6 weeks to schedule exam.
2.) Official Transcript, showing your conferred graduate degree in counseling sent directly from your school.
3.) BCI and FBI Criminal Records Check
4.) LPC licensure application
**Please allow 7-10 business days to process items sent to the board’s office